STATE OF DELAWARE
OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL

GroVvER P. INGLE DovER OFFICE

STATE FIRE MARSHAL HEADQUARTERS
TO: Amusement Ride Owners/Operators
FROM: Grover P. Ingle, CFPS, CFI-I ;q/ié

State Fire Marshal
SUBJECT:  State of Delaware Amusement Ride Safety Inspection and Insurance Act

The Insurance Policies and Inspection Certificates required by the Delaware Code, Title 16,
Chapter 64 (Amusement Ride Safety Inspection and Insurance Act), must be filed with the
Office of the State Fire Marshal prior to June 1.

A check or money order made payable to the State of Delaware in the amount of $20.00 per
amusement ride or a maximum of $100.00, must be submitted along with the Inspection
Certificate.

The Insurance policies, inspection certificates and fees must be received and reviewed by the
Office of the State Fire Marshal prior to operating any Amusement Ride. In addition, an
Electrical Inspection shall be conducted by a recognized Electrical Inspection Agency, as
certified by the Delaware State Board of Electrical Examiners each time an Amusement Ride is
set up, pursuant to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Regulation 704, Chapter 4,
Section 3.1.

You may find the information and documents on our web site as indicated below:

1) Definition of Amusement Rides per the Delaware Code Title 16, Chapter 64 (Amusement
Rides Safety Inspection and Insurance Act)
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title16/c064/index.shtml

2) Amusement Rides Safety Inspection Certificate (one must be filled out for each ride)
Download from
http://www.statefiremarshal.delaware.gov/services/investigation_licensing.shtml

3) A copy of the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Regulation 704, Chapter 4,
effective November 11, 2009.
http://www.statefiremarshal.delaware.gov/regs/2009DSFPR704HazardProcessesOperati
ons.pdf

4) A list of recognized Electrical Inspection Agencies certified by the Delaware Board of
Electrical Examiners
http://www.statefiremarshal.delaware.gov/pdfs/electinspagencylist.pdf

Inspection certificates, insurance policies and fees shall be mailed to:

Office of the State Fire Marshal
Delaware Fire Service Center
1537 Chestnut Grove Road
Dover, DE 19904-1544

If you have any questions, feel free to contact the Office of the State Fire Marshal at (302) 739-
4447,
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