
The safe alternative is to attend 
professional fireworks shows. All 

in-state fireworks shows are 
controlled events, with permitted 

displays by licensed 
pyrotechnicians.  Any use 

of fireworks by a licensed company 
or association requires a permit 
which details who is igniting the 
display and the location. These 

permit applications must be 
submitted to the State Fire 

Marshal’s Office at least 30 days 
prior to the event for approval. 

For more information on 
Fireworks in Delaware please 

visit our website: 

Fireworks: Display Permits & 
Licensing - State Fire Marshal - 

State of Delaware 

Or contact us at: 

fire.marshal@delaware.gov 

Delaware State Fire 
Marshal’s Office 

New Castle Division 

2307 MacArthur Road 
New Castle, DE 19720-2426 

302-323-5375

Headquarters / Kent Division 

1537 Chestnut Grove Road 
Dover, DE 19904-1544 

302-739-4447

Sussex Division 

22705 Park Avenue 
Georgetown, DE 19947 

302-856-5600
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The Office of the Delaware State 
Fire Marshal reminds Delawareans 

and visitors that fireworks are 
prohibited in the State of Delaware, 

with the following exceptions: 

Certain fireworks, such as 
sparklers, ground-based displays, 

and a selection of other 
nonairborne, nonexplosive novelty 

items, regulated by the federal 
government, are allowed to be used 

only on July 4th, the third day of  
Diwali, Dec. 31st, and January 1st. 

Permitted ground-based fireworks 
include the following: spinners, 

fountains, jumping jacks, ground 
blooms, and handheld sparklers. 

These firework types can be 
purchased by a person 18 years of 
age or older only between June 4th 
and July 4th and December 1st and 

Jan 1st each year. 

What is Prohibited? 

Aerial and explosive fireworks of 
any type are prohibited throughout 

the year. Prohibited fireworks 
include the following: bottle 
rockets, firecrackers or fire 

balloons, aerials like Roman 
candles, and any other device that 
explodes or shoots into the air is 

prohibited per the fireworks 
chapter of Delaware’s Health and 

Safety code, 

Title 16, Chapter 69, D. 

Not only are these fireworks 
prohibited in Delaware, but it is 

also illegal to purchase them across 
state lines and bring them back to 

Delaware.  Firework misuse and/or 
illegal possession are misdemeanor 

crimes that can result in fines. 
However, any injuries or damages 

caused by firework use can result in 
felony charges. 

The State Fire Marshal reserves the 
right to confiscate all explosives or 

fireworks found to be illegally 
possessed within Delaware. 

Along with being courteous to 
neighbors and pets, individuals 

setting off permitted fireworks at 
home need to follow proper safety 
measures when using any sort of 

fireworks. 
Never allow young children to play 
with or ignite fireworks, including 

sparklers. Sparklers burn at 
temperatures of about 2,000 

degrees Fahrenheit—hot enough to 
melt some metals. 

Proper disposal of permitted 
fireworks is extremely 

important.   Keep a bucket of water 
or a garden hose nearby in case of 

fire or other mishap. Never use 
fireworks while under the influence 

of alcohol or drugs. 
Dispose of the used fireworks by 

placing them in a bucket filled with 
water and place the bucket at least 
10 feet away from any buildings, 

homes, or decks. 

https://delcode.delaware.gov/title16/c069/
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